BRIGHTON & HOVE CITY COUNCIL

COUNCIL

3.00pm 20 JULY 2023

COUNCIL CHAMBER, HOVE TOWN HALL

MINUTES

Present: Councillors O'Quinn (Chair), Atkinson, Bagaeen, Davis, Evans, Fowler, Grimshaw, Hamilton, Meadows, McNair, Robins, Sankey, Shanks, C Theobald, West, Wilkinson, Williams, Alexander, Allen, Asaduzzaman, Baghoth, Burden, Cattell, Czolak, Daniel, Earthey, Gajjar, Galvin, Goddard, Goldsmith, Helliwell, Hewitt, Hill, Hogan, Loughran, Lyons, McGregor, McLeay, Miller, Mistry, Muten, Nann, Oliveira, Pickett, Pumm, Robinson, Rowkins, Sheard, Simon, Stevens, Taylor, Thomson and Winder

PART ONE

12 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

12.1 There were no declarations of interest.

13 MAYOR'S COMMUNICATIONS.

13.1 There was no Mayor's Communication.

14 APPOINTMENT OF HONORARY ALDERMEN AND ALDERWOMEN

14.1 The Mayor advised that this item of business related to the proposed appointment of previous councillors as Honorary Aldermen and Alderwoman of the City of Brighton & Hove. The appointment was made in recognition of the service given by those past councillors to the Council, the wards they represented and the city.

The Mayor proposed that the following councillors be appointed

Mary Mears Dawn Barnett Tony Janio Leo Littman Phelim Mac Cafferty Alex Phillips Dee Simson Vanessa Brown Lizzie Deane 14.2 Cllr Sankey, Leader of the Council formally seconded the motion.

Cllr Shanks Deputy Convenor of the Green Group seconded the motion.

Cllr McNair Leader of the Conservative Group seconded the motion.

- 14.3 The Mayor and Councillors from all parties thanked those who were receiving their awards for their service to the public and the Council.
- 14.4 **RESOLVED:** That the Motion to appoint those named as Aldermen and Alderwomen be agreed.

15 CLOSE OF MEETING

15.1 The Mayor closed the meeting.

The meeting concluded at 3.25pm

Signed

Chair

Dated this

day of

2023